The Coordinator Guide

This guide provides the coordinator basic instructions to use the functionality of the RapidAssist Emergency Command Center. It will enable a coordinator to:

  1. Successfully start and manage emergencies
  2. Locate and communicate with users during an emergency
  3. Managing new and existing users
  4. Change the emergency contact phone numbers of users.

Starting an emergency

A coordinator can log two types of emergency events in the RapidAssist Emergency Command Center:

  • An area emergency - where the coordinator selects an area on a map which references a location relating to the emergency
  • A user emergency - where the coordinator can select specific users affected
  • A zones emergency - where the coordinator can select specific predefined zones, such as buildings and sites affected.

An 'area emergency' allows the coordinator to monitor the location of users and communicate with them when they are within the boundaries of the selected area.

A 'user emergency' allows the coordinator to monitor and communicate with selected users.

A 'zones emergency' allows the coordinator to monitor the location of users and communicate with them when they are within the boundaries of the selected zones, predefined buildings and sites.

Follow these steps to activate either an user, area or zones emergency:

  • Select Emergencies from the main menu
  • Select ADD NEW EMERGENCY in the top right of the screen
  • Type in an Emergency Name
  • Type in an Emergency Description
  • In the Emergency Info tab select the emergency type:
    a. Users Emergency - Select the specific users in the list
    b. Area Emergency - Select the area of the emergency on the map
    c. Zones Emergency - Select the affected zones from the list of zones.
  • Click the ADD button in the top right corner to start the emergency
  • The emergency dashboard will be displayed.

Managing an emergency

During an emergency, the coordinator has the ability to:

  1. Track where the user has traveled throughout the emergency
  2. Acknowledge with the user that they need help and changing their status
  3. Communicate with users.

How to track users

  1. Select Emergencies from the main menu
  2. Select the emergency name on the emergencies list
  3. Click on the Emergency Info tab
  4. Click the checkbox next to the user name to display where the user has traveled throughout the emergency
  5. Scroll over the trail of the user to display the date and time that the user was in that location.

Acknowledging users that need help and changing their status

  1. Select Emergencies from the main menu
  2. Select the emergency name on the emergencies list
  3. Click on the Emergency Info tab in the Emergency Command Center
  4. To acknowledge a user status, select Acknowledge checkbox in the Acknowledge column. The user will be automatically notified that their status has been changed to Acknowledged
  5. To change a user status, click on the drop-down under the Status column. The user will be automatically notified that their status has changed.

Communicating with users

A coordinator can follow either these steps to communicate with specific users in the emergency:

  1. Select Emergencies from the main menu
  2. Select emergency name on the Emergencies list
  3. In the Emergency Info tab, select the envelope icon next to the user you want to communicate with
  4. Press Enter to send the message.

Or

  1. Right click on the user's pin on the map
  2. A message pop-up box will be displayed
  3. Type your message and click the SEND button.

Follow these steps to communicate with all users at once in the emergency:

  1. Select Emergencies from the main menu
  2. Select the Emergency Name on the emergencies list
  3. Select the Messages tab
  4. Type your message in the ‘send message to all users’ field
  5. Press Enter to send the message.

User management

RapidAssist mobile app users must be registered in the RapidAssist Emergency Command Center before they can login with the RapidAssist mobile app.

To set up individual mobile app users, you can follow these steps:

  • Login to the RapidAssist Emergency Command Center
  • Select Users in the main menu
  • Click ADD NEW USER button in the top right of your screen
  • To add a user:
    a. Type the User Name
    b. Select the Organization
    c. Type the user's mobile number including the country and area code
    d. Click the ADD button in the top right corner to add the user
  • Send an email to the user to advise them to download, install and register their mobile app. The email should follow this format:

    Subject line: Download and install RapidAssist
    Email body:
    Dear <insert user name>,
    You have been registered as a RapidAssist user by <insert your organization name>.
    You can download, and install the RapidAssist mobile app here:
    iPhone
    https://itunes.apple.com/WebObjects/MZStore.woa/wa/viewSoftware?id=1462156770&mt=8
    Android
    https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=co.rapidassist.app
    Kind regards,
    <insert your organization name>

User enrolment

You can see whether a user is enrolled on the mobile app or not. User enrolment is the process of a user installing and setting up the app. To see whether a user is enrolled, the coordinator must follow these steps:

  • Select Users in the main menu
  • View the Enrolled column in the Users Dashboard to see whether it reads ‘Yes’ or ‘No’:
    - If it reads ‘Yes’, this means the user has installed and set up their profile on the mobile app
    If it reads ‘No’, this means the user hasn’t installed or set up their profile on the mobile app.

Change a user's name and mobile phone number

You can change both a user’s name and their mobile phone number should they need to. To do so, follow these steps:

  • Select Users in the main menu
  • Click on the name of the user you would like to change the details of
  • Click on their current name and type in the new one as desired
  • Follow the same process to change their mobile phone number.

Deleting a user

You can delete a user from RapidAssist. To do so, follow these steps:

  • Select Users in the main menu
  • Click on the box to left of the user’s profile picture. The delete button in the top right-hand corner of the User Dashboard will be displayed
  • Click Delete to remove the user from RapidAssist.

Note that deleting a user from RapidAssist permanently removes all data, and data in backups, associated with the user. This is to comply with data privacy regulations.

Adding more coordinators

A coordinator can add more and delete coordinators. To do so, follow these steps:

  • Select Coordinators in the main menu
  • To add a coordinator:
    a. Select ADD NEW COORDINATOR in the top left-hand corner of the coordinator dashboard
    b. Complete the coordinator details and click ADD.
  • To delete a coordinator:
    a. Click on the box to left of the coordinator’s profile picture
    b. Click Delete in the top right-hand corner of the coordinator dashboard.

Emergency contact phone number management

A coordinator can change the emergency contact phone numbers. To do so, follow these steps:

  • Select Coordinators in the main menu
  • Click on the Emergency Numbers tab
  • Change the Emergency Coordinator Phone Number as desired
  • You can also choose the time delay for a SMS text message in this section.

If a user hasn’t responded during an emergency using the RapidAssist mobile app, they are automatically sent an SMS requesting their status, after this time delay period.